Special Report

Will John Clark Get a "Make-Up Call" on the 2007 LKB Award? An Investigative Series on CoB Faculty Research Credentials

The CoB Awards Banquet is approaching and, because this is an odd-numbered year, the Louis K. Brandt Faculty Research Award is up for grabs once again. As usmpride.com has reported, this award has become mired in controversy over the past several years due to administrative tinkering, aimed at what sources say have been outcomes favorable to political supporters of the CoB's administration. For example, CoB Associate Dean Farhang Niroomand's good friend and co-author Edward Nissan won the 2001 Louis K. Brandt Award, even after it was discovered in the days leading up to that year's banquet that Niroomand had selected Mohsen Bahmani-Oskooee, another of Niroomand's closest friends, to serve as an "impartial" outside reviewer for that year's award selection. The 2001 debacle was followed in 2005 with the political shenanigans surrounding Barry Babin's receipt of the award over John Clark. A report at usmpride.com explained that Babin won the award despite (1) having the cream of his 2005 award dossier accounted for by articles published in his own in-house journal, and (2) having been picked to chair Management & Marketing, a position that was accompanied by more than a \$25,000 raise, at about the same time as the awards night banquet. The fact that Clark, a thenassistant professor of finance, had never won the award, and reportedly had a better record than Babin, only added insult to Clark's injury.

The question on the minds of many CoB faculty this year is: Will Clark be given the 2007 LKB Award to make up for "what happened to him" in 2005? Only time will tell. If so, this is classic CoB stuff. To make up for Clark's 2005 loss, someone else deserving of the 2007 LKB Award may have to be pushed aside. And the beat goes on.

Our guess is that Clark will *not* get the make-up call this time around, simply because he received more than a \$12,000 raise at the end of the 2005-06 academic year. It has been reported to us that Niroomand had great difficulty signing off on that particular raise, and he (Niroomand) is not likely to approve an additional \$1,500 financial prize for Clark. We have received tips indicating that the 2007 LKB Award will be won by economics professor Edward Nissan. Sources tell us that the CoB administration wants to give Nissan one final LKB Award before his retirement, even though no official retirement announcement has been made by Nissan to date.

Our Prediction: Jon Carr, associate professor of management. Carr came through with a *Journal of Management* in 2006, and that will carry him over the top. (Never mind that Michael Vest is also a co-author on that paper.)